IFP Spirit Award Winners


Originally Published: March 2, 2005

Hosted annually on the beach in Santa Monica, the Independent Spirit Awards is a celebration honoring filmmakers of independent vision. Televised in millions of homes and covered internationally, the Independent Spirit Awards program has become the vanguard event in independent film, recognizing the achievements of independent filmmakers and promoting independent film to a wider audience.

The 20th Independent Spirit Awards was held Saturday, February 26, 2005.

Best Feature
Produced by Michael London

Best First Feature
Garden State
Directed by Zach Braff
Produced by Pamela Abdy, Gary Gilbert, Dan Halsted, Richard Klubeck

John Cassavetes Award
Mean Creek
Written & Directed by Jacob Aaron Estes
Produced by Susan Johnson, Rick Rosenthal, Hagai Shaham

Best Director
Alexander Payne

Best Screenplay
Alexander Payne & Jim Taylor

Best First Screenplay
Joshua Martson
Maria Full of Grace

Best Male Lead
Paul Giamatti

Best Female Lead
Catalina Sandino Moreno
Maria Full of Grace

Best Supporting Female
Virginia Madsen

Best Supporting Male
Thomas Haden Church

Best Debut Performance
Rodrigo de la Serna
The Motorcycle Diaries

Best Cinematography
Eric Gautier
The Motorcycle Diaries

Best Documentary
Metallica: Some Kind of Monster
Directed by Joe Berlinger, Bruce Sinofsky

Best Foreign Film
The Sea Inside
Directed by Alejandro Amenábar

Bravo/American Express Producers Award
Gina Kwon

Turning Leaf Someone To Watch Award
Jem Cohen

DIRECTV/IFC Truer Than Fiction Award
Zana Briski and Ross Kauffman
Born into Brothels

For more information on the IFP Spirit Awards or IFP membership, visit them HERE »

Explore More...