Screen Actors Guild Award winners for 2008

James Earl Jones plays Jack Jefferson in the 1970 film The Great White Hope
James Earl Jones plays Jack Jefferson in the 1970 film The Great White Hope

The Screen Actors Guild presented its coveted Actor statuette for outstanding motion picture and primetime television performances of 2008 at the 15th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards, in ceremonies attended by film and television’s leading actors, held tonight, Sunday, Jan. 25th 2009, at the Los Angeles Shrine Exposition Center. The event was simulcast by TNT and TBS at 8 p.m., ET/PT, 7 p.m. CT and 6 p.m. MT

Below is the compete list of nominees and winners.

Richard Jenkins – The Visitor
Frank Langella – Frost/Nixon
WINNER: Sean Penn – Milk
Brad Pitt – The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Mickey Rourke – The Wrestler

Anne Hathaway – Rachel Getting Married
Angelina Jolie – Changeling
Melissa Leo – Frozen River
WINNER: Meryl Streep – Doubt
Kate Winslet – Revolutionary Road

Supporting Actor
Josh Brolin – Milk
Robert Downey, Jr. – Tropic Thunder
Philip Seymour Hoffman – Doubt
WINNER: Heath Ledger – The Dark Knight
Dev Patel – Slumdog Millionaire

Supporting Actress
Amy Adams – Doubt
Penelope Cruz – Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Viola Davis – Doubt
Taraji P. Henson – The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
WINNER: Kate Winslet – The Reader

Ensemble Cast
WINNER: Slumdog Millionaire
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Stunt Ensemble
WINNER: The Dark Knight
Hellboy II: The Golden Army
Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull
Iron Man

Actor in a television movie or miniseries
Ralph Fiennes – Bernard and Doris
WINNER: Paul Giamatti – John Adams
Kevin Spacey – Recount
Kiefer Sutherland – 24: Redemption
Tom Wilkinson – John Adams

Actress in a television movie or miniseries
Laura Dern – Recount
WINNER: Laura Linney – John Adams
Shirley Maclaine – Coco Chanel
Phylicia Rashad – A Raisin in the Sun
Susan Sarandon – Bernard And Doris

Actor in a drama series
Michael C. Hall – Dexter
Jon Hamm – Mad Men
WINNER: Hugh Laurie – House
William Shatner – Boston Legal
James Spader – Boston Legal

Actress in a drama series
WINNER: Sally Field – Brothers & Sisters
Mariska Hargitay – Law & Order: Special Victims Unit
Holly Hunter – Saving Grace
Elisabeth Moss – Mad Men
Kyra Sedgwick – The Closer

Actor in a comedy series
WINNER: Alec Baldwin – 30 Rock
Steve Carell – The Office
David Duchovny – Californication
Jeremy Piven – Entourage
Tony Shalhoub – Monk

Actress in a comedy series
Christina Applegate – Samantha Who?
America Ferrera – Ugly Betty
WINNER: Tina Fey – 30 Rock
Mary-Louise Parker – Weeds
Tracey Ullman – Tracey Ullman’s State of the Union

Ensemble in a drama Series
Boston Legal
The Closer

Ensemble in a comedy series
WINNER: 30 Rock
Desperate Housewives
The Office

Stunt ensemble
Friday Night Lights
WINNER: Heroes
Prison Break
The Unit
The Closer

Life achievement award
James Earl Jones

Explore More...