David Rubin, Dawn Hudson | PopCultureQuotes.com

The 94th Oscars were meant to be a celebration of the many individuals in our community who did incredible work this past year; however, those moments were overshadowed by the unacceptable and harmful behavior we saw Mr. Smith exhibit on stage.

During our telecast, we did not adequately address the situation in the room. For this, we are sorry. This was an opportunity for us to set an example for our guests, viewers and our Academy family around the world, and we fell short — unprepared for the unprecedented.

Today, the Board of Governors convened a meeting to discuss how best to respond to Will Smith's actions at the Oscars, in addition to accepting his resignation. The Board has decided, for a period of 10 years from April 8, 2022, Mr. Smith shall not be permitted to attend any Academy events or programs, in person or virtually, including but not limited to the Academy Awards.

We want to express our deep gratitude to Mr. Rock for maintaining his composure under extraordinary circumstances. We also want to thank our hosts, nominees, presenters and winners for their poise and grace during our telecast.

This action we are taking today in response to Will Smith's behavior is a step toward a larger goal of protecting the safety of our performers and guests, and restoring trust in the Academy. We also hope this can begin a time of healing and restoration for all involved and impacted.

view related:
By: David Rubin | Dawn Hudson
Genres: Award Shows

Text of an Open Letter from AMPAS to Academy members regarding the outcome of an investigation into the slapping incident at the 94th Academy Awards Presentation. Actor Will Smith, after a joke by actor and comedian Chris Rock, went on-stage and slapped Rock.

Will Smith to receive MTV Generation Award at 25th Anniversary edition MTV Movie Awards

MTV announced today that it will honor Will Smith with the Generation Award during the 2016 MTV Movie Awards. Smith, originally an rapper and television star (The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air), began his film career with the indie movies Where the Day Takes You & Six Degrees of Separation, but cemented his superstar status in ….

Terrence Malick, George Clooney and Rooney Mara take top honors at net Film Critic Awards

The Internet Film Critic Society have announced the winners of their 5th Annual Movie Awards, giving the top honor, Best Drama, to Terrence Malick’s The Tree of Life. Malick also won the Best Director prize. Other awards went to Woody Allen’s Midnight in Paris (Best Comedy), Drive (Best Action Film), and Attack the Block (Best ….

Golden Globe nominations revealed with more than a few surprises

With seven nods, the British drama The King’s Speech, about a royal with a speech impediment, led the nominations for the 68th annual Golden Globe Awards that were announced Tuesday morning. The Facebook origins drama The Social Network and the Mark Wahlberg/Christian Bale boxing tale The Fighter followed close behind with six nominations each. The ….

Katie Holmes, Blair Underwood and Josh Duhamel to announce Golden Globe Nominations

Katie Holmes, Blair Underwood and Josh Duhamel will announce the nominees for the 68th annual Golden Globe Awards on Tuesday morning, according to THR. They, along with Hollywood Foreign Press Association president Philip Berk, will make the announcements beginning at 5 a.m. at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. The Golden Globe Awards will air live on ….

Alice in Wonderland and Avatar production designer to be honored by Hollywood Film Festival

Oscar-winning production designer Robert Stromberg, whose work was most recently featured in Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland and James Cameron’s Avatar, will receive the Hollywood Film Festival’s Hollywood Production Designer of the Year Award during the Festival’s October 25th awards gala Ceremony, according to festival founder and president Carlos de Abreu. Stromberg’s selection followed a ….

Cinematographers Guild continues tradition with September awards program

For 14 years the International Cinematographers Guild has honored new talent within its membership with what is now known as the Emerging Cinematographers Awards. Any Guild member who is not already a Director of Photography can enter this contest with his or her short film, be they a camera operator, loader, still photographer or any ….

Indies outpace majors at 82nd Academy Awards

Independent films once again collected the most Oscars at the Academy Awards ceremony, including Best Picture for Summit Entertainment and Voltage Pictures’ The Hurt Locker. The win brings to 18 the number of independent films earning Best Picture over the past 30 years, the Independent Film & Television Alliance (IFTA) announced. This year, indies collected ….