Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance co-director to speak at Troma Team Comic-Con panel


Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance co-director Brian TaylorTroma Entertainment announced that Brian Taylor, co-director of the upcoming reboot/requel Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance, will speak at the Troma Panel at San Diego Comic-Con 2011, titled “Can DIY Filmmaking Replace Hollywood? Selling Your Own Damn Movie Without Selling Your Soul!”. Taylor will be joined on the panel by leading film directors who have also been influenced by Lloyd Kaufman’s films.

The Troma Panel will be held at 9 PM on Saturday, July 23rd. Panelists will also include: Steven Paul, producer of Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance, as well as Steven Spielberg’s upcoming Ghost In The Shell; Adam Green, director of Hatchet II; Scott Mckinlay, director of Creep Van; and New York State Film Commissioner Pat Kaufman. Eisner Award-winner Mimi Cruz of Night Flight Comics will moderate the discussion, where Lloyd Kaufman, Creator of the Toxic Avenger, will offer the secrets of self-distribution to today’s indie filmmakers. During the Troma Panel, there will be a raffle for limited San Diego Comic-Con Exclusive numbered special editions of Mr. Kaufman’s new best-selling book Sell Your Own Damn Movie! as well as DVDs and Blu-Rays of his film Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead.

Established in 1974 by Yale friends Lloyd Kaufman and Michael Herz, Troma Entertainment is one of the longest running independent movie studios in U.S. history, and one of the best-known names in the industry. World famous for movie classics like Kaufman’s The Toxic Avenger, Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead, Class of Nuke’em High, Mother’s Day, and Tromeo and Juliet, Troma’s seminal films are now being remade as big budget mainstream productions by the likes of Brett Ratner, Richard Saperstein, Akiva Goldsman, and Steven Pink. Among today’s stars whose early work can be found in Troma’s more than 800 film library are Trey Parker, Samuel L. Jackson, Matt Stone, Jenna Fischer, Robert De Niro, Dustin Hoffman, Kevin Costner, Fergie and Vincent D’Onofrio.