The 2006 Fade In Awards

2006 Awards Entry Deadline is October 31, 2006

The Fade In Awards were established in 1996 to assist talented new writers and writer/directors in getting recognized within the Hollywood community in order to begin a career as a working filmmaker.

In the last decade, the competition has done just that: After Jon Bokenkamp entered his thriller Preston Tylk, he signed with ICM, he was hired to write a feature for director William Friedkin, has since directed Tylk and sold his documentary After Sunset to AMC. Bokenkamp, after writing a feature for Julia Roberts and another for Halle Berry, received sole credit on Taking Lives starring Angelina Jolie. After Josh Gordin and Will Speck entered their short Culture, both signed with ICM, Culture was nominated for an Academy Award, and they just directed Will Ferrell in Blades of Glory. After Darryl Wimberleyentered his noir Kaleidoscope, he signed with ICM. He now has a two-book deal with St. Martin’s Press. And after George Olson entered his script Tesla, he signed with Endeavor. You could be next.

Winners of the 2006 Fade In Awards will be announced February 15, 2007. Over $10,000 in prizes will be awarded thereafter, including the Grand Prize and up to 16 finalists.

Grand Prize winner will receive an iMac Computer, plus an expense paid trip (hotel and airfare) to meet with top literary agents and studio executives for three days and two nights (or cash equivalent).

Get more info on how to enter the competition at

Explore More...